Don’t Get Discouraged, Get Desperate!


I want to be transparent here with you today when I say that for the last couple of months  I have been in a serious funk. Nothing I do seems to be going right and everything that could go wrong has or is desperately trying to go wrong. The kids the husband, school and just every day life. 
 
 I wont go into detail but it has been frustrating to say the least. It was so discouraging at times and there were days, I  was screaming inside, I just wanted to throw my hands up and say “this is too hard, I cant do this.” And truthfully it wasn’t until recently that I finally got so discouraged that I had to get desperate. Desperate for God, his presence, his love, his peace. I am learning that the closer I get to God the less I can do without him. Sure I prayed, I read the words. But I wasn’t depending on him everyday. And truthfully, there were days I didn’t want to pray, I didn’t want to read, I didn’t want to do anything but have a pity party for one. And I did.
 
But thank God for his mercy and Grace and patience. I was in this same place a few years ago and God revealed something very precious to me and I wanted to share it with you.
 
I was on the beach having some alone time with God early one morning and saw a young family coming down onto the beach. A mother and father and two small children probably 3 and 4 yrs old. The small girl wasn’t keeping up and so she began to cry because she thought her family was leaving her, while all along the mother had been looking behind to make sure the daughter was still following.  But the child didn’t see that, so she stopped and started crying. As far as she knew, she was being left. So the mother hearing her cries went back to get her, knelt down in front of her and caressed her head. Then as she stood up, the child reached up for her, so the mother picked her up and carried her.
 
God gave me revelation that day when I saw that, God showed me that I was like that small child who was crying because I couldn’t keep up, because I felt alone. But my Father had never left me, he was keeping an eye on me the whole time and finally when I couldn’t go on, I cried out to him and as I reached up for him, he picked me up and carried me.
 
And so I want to offer that same encouragement to you today, that if you are in that place where you just want to throw your hands up and say I quit. God has not forgotten you. Just like that mother, he hears your cries and when you reach up for him he will lovingly pick you up and carry you. Don’t get mad, resentful or lose hope. Instead, get hungry and get down on your knees and pray. Because when you do his love will find you. And the awesome thing is it doesn’t matter if it is your fault or not. No matter what we have done, no matter how badly we have “blown it”, we need to know that grace and mercy are available at the cross.
 
So instead of getting discouraged, get desperate!! God shared with me and helped me to see that when our back is totally up against the wall, there is no place to go but forward. When you begin to face adversity and when your facing those Giants, don’t get discouraged because just like David and Goliath, when David defeated his giant he went into the promise land. So begin to look at your giants as a sign that when you defeat them greater things lie ahead!! Be blessed and encouraged.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Surely, the Greatness of God abounds in our senses all day long.

    By His Grace.

    Reply

  2. Great insight, thankyou for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

