Being a Christian and Having Depression


 

This topic has been heavy laden on my heart for  some time. Perhaps because it something I know a little  about. After all you cannot teach what you don’t know, right? So with that said I want to offer you hope and encouragement if you or someone you know suffers from some form of depression.

What I learned about this alarming condition is that over 15 million people in the USA alone suffer from this condition. It is also the number one prescribed medicine in the USA. I was shocked to say the least when I read that. Depression is a real thing and not something made up in our minds or an excuse.

There is a definite stigma that comes with being a Christian and having depression. Some will say that we should be able to lay hands on it and pray it away. Some feel that are faith is lacking because we cannot believe it away. Friends, it’s no different from having any other condition that requires medicine. Diabetes, High blood pressure, etc. You take meds for that, why wouldn’t you take them for depression if you knew it was going to make you feel better? Granted not everyone needs meds, but trust me they do help. Now granted, everyone gets down at some point through out there life, this doesn’t mean you have depression.

 Depression is classified as having symptoms longer than 2wks. Now I don’t have time to go into all of it. This is to offer encouragement to those who are suffering now. You can go onto www.depressionisreal.org for  more information.   

First of all I want to say if you have this condition, “its ok and it’s not your fault.” And remember that God is the Great physician. It’s ok to not have it all together! I seriously struggle with this, but God reminds me that I don’t need to be perfect, no one is perfect. Only God is perfect!

God is always there to help and his ways are many and they vary. It’s ok to get down, but you have a choice, you can choose to live or you can choose to let the devil keep you down. Although you may be feeling like the Lord has left you, He has not! The Lord says he will never leave us nor forsake us. God says his love is for all eternity.

 “I loved you with an ever lasting love. I have drawn you with loving kindness.” Jer. 31:3

Psalms 32:10 says “ The Lords unfailing love surrounds the (wo)man who trusts in Him.”

That’s the key friends, TRUST. Who are you putting your trust in? Your circumstances or God? We need to get to the point that we say enough is enough and we lift our heads and cry out to God. God is the lifter of our heads,

Psalms 3 :3 reads “But you O’Lord are a shield, for me my glory, and the lifter of my head.”

I have found that many of us suffer in silence because we don’t want anyone to know we are hurting, after all we are Pastors, we are leaders We are super moms and dads. We are supposed to have it all together. Regardless of your earthly title. We all get broke down in spirit at on time or another. But know one will ever know that we are hurting unless we open up to someone and let them know.

You will be amazed at the healing that comes from sharing what you are going through with someone. You soon find out that your not alone as you thought! I have so much more I want to share but My space is limited so perhaps I will continue with this next week. I love you all and I pray that you will be comforted and given strength during this time in your life. Be blessed and encouraged.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by waltkaye on January 17, 2010 at 5:57 AM

    Everyone can get depressions. Even christian people. There is nothing which says a christian should not get derpression. Even Jesus had – to my understanding – some depression when he felt left alone from God.
    With all my blessings to you.

    Reply

    • You’re right, everyone can get depression. And Yes, even Jesus felt alone and cried out to God right before He was crucified.
      In fact many people in the bible endured various forms of depression. Thank you for stopping by. And may the Lord God Almighty bless you in an uncommon way this year!~Gypsy

      Reply

  2. Posted by waltkaye on January 17, 2010 at 12:57 PM

    Thanks. Hope blessings will come – I am fighting with depression and even darker thoughts.

    Reply

    • Oh sweetie, they will!! Blessings will come. God has not forgotten about you. Although I know at times you feel like you’re all alone and God is nowhere to be found. I know I’ve been there too. But you need to know deep down that He is there. Often times when we don’t see Him working it’s when He is working the hardest on our behalf.
      I am not sure where you are in your walk with Christ, but I do want you to know that there isn’t anything you could ever do that would make God stop loving you. So many times, we ask God to forgive us. (AND HE DOES) but we don’t forgive ourselves. That the hardest part.
      Or maybe you have lost a loved one and feel alone. Whatever has you in your state of depression is nothing less than a spiritual attack. The enemy thrives on kicking us when were down and really honing in on those sensitive area of our lives. He knows our weakness’s better than we do, I think. But remember this, (The enemy never attacks what he is not threatened by) did you catch that? He won’t attack what He is not threatened by. That means that God has a great purpose and plan for your life and that He is not through with you yet! As long as you have breathe in you… God isn’t finished.
      And if you have any thoughts contrary to that then you know where there are coming from. So really think about it….if the enemy wasn’t worried about you doing something great for the Lord, or making an impact in someone’s life in a positive way he wouldn’t be bothering you.
      But friend, we have a choice. We can choose to live defeated or we can choose to live in victory. Life is precious and it is short enough, without being miserable in it. We have to determine in ourselves that we will not be defeated we will not be overcome. But that we will live our lives the best way we know how. God came so that we would have life and have it more abundantly. He died so that we could live.
      Sweetie you have so much to give God thanks for and so much yet to do. You hang in there and know that I am praying with you and that God’s love is everlasting. Do you want to know how much God loves you? So much that even if you were the ONLY person on the planet, He would still send His son to die just for you. No, we are not worthy..None of us are but we are WORTH IT!! And you need to know that about yourself. You are worth it!!
      I recommend that if you haven’t talked to someone about your depression, that you seek medical help, if possible. There are so many good doctors out there and medicines that can help you too. If you haven’t already taken that step. I know I had to..and it has helped me so much.
      Be blessed my friend and know how much you are loved.~ Gypsy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

