“Open Your Mouth and I Will Fill It”


You know God never ceases to amaze me. This week I want to challenge you with my testimony. At the end of the year, I prayed and asked God to give me more, “God encounters,” In 2011. And by that I mean I wanted God to put more people in my path that needed to hear from Him. And He was not slow on answering my request.

Just 2 days later, my husband and I were having dinner in one of our favorite restaurants. I began looking around the room for someone to minister to. I knew God would pick someone; after all, there is someone everywhere we go. Now mind you, we can walk up to just about anyone in our own strength and try to minister to them. However, when it is a God encounter, God does the choosing, you just obey what He tells you to do. This was one of those times.

When we were done eating, I walked up to an elder man and told him what God had told me. His wife began weeping and thanked me. I blessed them and walked out. I felt so good, knowing that I had blessed someone. And yes I was nervous, I had no idea what I would say, but God said to me, “open your mouth and I will fill it.” And He did.

Two days later we were at another eating place; this one was a little scary. This person was a big biker looking man, covered in tattoos and piercings. God gave me a word for him. I went into the restroom, and said to God, “okay God I need to know that this is really you because this is scary.” Very clearly in my spirit, I heard Him say, “You know my voice.”

Okay, so I put on my big girl panties and I walked over to him and I told him, “I want to encourage you, the Lord told me to tell you that if you start your business, as long as you keep Him first, you will be successful. And you will never have to work for another man or woman again.” After he closed his mouth from the shock, he smiled, and said, “Thank you, thank you very much.”

Now here’s the thing, I wasn’t scared of him and how he looked, I was scared at what God told me to tell him! I could have really been off on that one. But I left, knowing it was God. Here it was barely January 1st and already I had 2 God encounters.  I just had to make myself available.

And again last week I was out at the grocery store and this sweet old man stopped me and started talking about potato salad and Tamales. When he was walking away, I said, “God bless you.” He responds, “I wish He would.” Talk about God opening a door to minister. I asked him if I could pray with him. He agreed. He says to me, “what about all these people?” I replied, “I don’t care about them right now.” He smiles and says, “Okay, lets get on with it then.”

And to be honest,  I really didnt care about anybody watching.

(But I haven’t always had that freedom, it took some time.=)

As we begin to pray, he looks at me and say’s, “You’re making me shake, why am I shaking?” I looked him square in the eyes and I said, “It isn’t me, its Jesus.”

You see, we don’t have to know what we are going to say or how to say it; we just have to be a willing vessel. God wants to use you the same way, but He needs you to be willing. So I challenge you, the next time you’re out and about, ask God to give you someone to bless, and He happily will do so. The more times you do it, the clearer His voice will become.

Email me mywordshismessage@yahoo.com




6 responses to this post.

  1. I was really encouraged by this message. Thank you for sharing it.

    Reply

    • You’re very welcome, thank you for commenting on it. To be truthful, it really is easier than we make it out to be. I never believed it, until God showed me first hand how simple it is, when we just remain obedient. All he is asking is for us to remain his hands, feet and mouthpiece.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Lorna Hamilton on January 8, 2012 at 1:14 AM

    Thank u for this encouraging message, it really minister to my spirit as the Lord drop in my spirit this morning that he has put his word in my mouth. And it bring me back to Jeremiah but thanks be to God who always cause us to triumph. Be bless in Jesus name.

    Reply

  3. Posted by trying on July 17, 2012 at 10:32 AM

    Gypsy, did you minister to people before or after your husband was saved? My husband is very resistant to me, I am actually frightened. I do what I can, when I can but he keeps watch over me and the children!

    Reply

  4. Posted by helen on October 20, 2012 at 5:20 PM

    i was bless by this and i know i will go out and bless other now

    Reply

  5. wow what a wonderful inspirational words,I am truly inspired woman of GOD,may THE ALMIGHTY GOD keep on using you in your daily life ,keep on doing his will and you shall be blessed more.I love you ,you are indeed a great friend!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

